2016: Year of the Yellow Books

While browsing for books online or in your local bookstore this year, you may have noticed an abundance of yellow book covers practically radiating in your direction. It's not just you! According to the Wall Street Journal, yellow is THE book jacket color of the moment, prized for its ability to "pop" both in person and on…
View More about 2016: Year of the Yellow Books

Remembering George Michael

Finer minds than mine have already done a beautiful job of eulogizing the late George Michael, but I'll give it a shot: I adored this man. It's easy to dismiss the 1980s pop music landscape as little more than froth and frivolity, synthesizers and silly hair. But we too easily forget how bold, daring, sexy, and subversive that decade truly was. Along with Prince, Madonna…
View More about Remembering George Michael

Road-Rage Busters: Great Audiobooks to Make Traffic (Seem) Less Horrible

You know how the book is always better than the movie? Well, it doesn't work that way with audiobooks! Some books are great reads, and some are also great to hear. Some are--gasp!-- even better heard than seen.  Also: audiobooks written for young audiences are often delightful for adult listeners, and audiobooks written for an older…
View More about Road-Rage Busters: Great Audiobooks to Make Traffic (Seem) Less Horrible

3 Novels About Royalty for Fans of Victoria and The Crown

If you've burned through all ten episodes of the Netflix series The Crown and are getting excited for the PBS premiere of Victoria, here are three royalty-themed books to hold you over while you wait. The Royal We (also in eBook, large print, and downloadable audiobook) is a sort of alternate history of Will and Kate: what if Kate was baseball-loving…
View More about 3 Novels About Royalty for Fans of Victoria and The Crown

Book Review: Ghosts

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier Catrina and her family move to Bahia de la Luna because Cat's little sister Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool salty air from the sea. Soon the girls and their family learn that the town and nearby mission is haunted--and the townspeople welcome the ghosts. They even throw a big…
View More about Book Review: Ghosts
1 - 10 of 19