10 to Try Check-In: March

10 to Try 2017 Reading Challenge

This month I decided to tackle what might be the easiest of all the 10 to Try categories: Read a book published since 1942. Aside from Shakespeare, Austen, and some other enduring classics, that's almost everything in the KCLS collection! To make it a little more challenging, I decided to seek out something published IN […]

Read More

10 to Try Check-in: February

10 to Try 2017 Reading Challenge

If you start with the hardest thing, it's all downhill from there, right? Reading is very rarely hard for me, but I'll admit that I've been eyeing the 10 to Try STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) category with some trepidation. Determined to get it out of the way first, I downloaded Magic and Loss, a […]

Read More

Zombie Novels for Zombie Haters

I am not a big zombie fan. I made it through a single season of The Walking Dead, mostly with my eyes closed. I couldn't even finish the first volume of the comics. But over the last few years, I've read three great zombie novels that I recommend every chance I get, even (especially!) for […]

Read More

5 Easy Ways to Find a STEM Book

Are you tackling our 10 to Try reading challenge this year? For me, one of the hardest categories is Read a Book About STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Math). I'll talk more about my personal reading preferences and reading STEM later in the month, but I want to focus this post on something else: how to […]

Read More

Most Popular Kids’ Fiction of 2016 at KCLS

Banner reads "Most Popular Kids' Fiction 2016" in front of background of book covers.

We treat the kids' list a little differently, because so many of our most popular kids' books are part of series! Instead of giving you the 10 most popular overall, we've compiled with 10 most popular with books from the same series removed, so you'll see the top title in each big series (instead of […]

Read More

King County’s Most Popular Nonfiction of 2016

Yesterday we revealed the 10 most popular fiction titles checked out by KCLS patrons last year. Today, we're taking a look at nonfiction! Japanese decluttering expert Marie Kondo shows up twice on this year's list, with #1 The Life-changing Magic of Tidying up (also in eBook) and #5 Spark Joy (also in eBook). For more inspiring minimalism, see our list […]

Read More

King County’s Most Popular Fiction of 2016

Background of book covers with a banner that reads "Most Popular Fiction 2016"

Ever wonder what your neighbors are reading? There's a good chance that it was one of these books in 2016! Here are our most-checked out books of the year, based on combined eBook and print checkouts. #1: The Girl on the Train (also in eBook) just won't quit! For more twisty thrillers starring complex women, try The Other Woman's […]

Read More

Introducing 10 to Try!

10 to Try 2017 Reading Challenge

One of our goals as a library system is to connect readers with great books and broaden our community’s reading horizons. This year, we’re trying something new to reach that goal: a reading challenge! In 2017, we hope you’ll join us for 10 to Try, a yearlong challenge that asks you to read a book […]

Read More

3 Novels About Royalty for Fans of Victoria and The Crown

Small, jeweled tiara sitting on a white pillow.

If you've burned through all ten episodes of the Netflix series The Crown and are getting excited for the PBS premiere of Victoria, here are three royalty-themed books to hold you over while you wait. The Royal We (also in eBook, large print, and downloadable audiobook) is a sort of alternate history of Will and Kate: what if Kate was baseball-loving […]

Read More

Make Today Your Lucky Day!

There's nothing like finding the bestseller you've been looking forward to sitting on the shelf at your local library! But although we do our best to keep up with demand (y'all are voracious readers!), there's often a wait for new and bestselling titles. Coming soon, though, you'll have a chance to find some of those […]

Read More