Fitness to Go eBooks

Finding it difficult to fit a fitness plan into your schedule? Ever wish you could have your exercise regimen at your fingertips? Take your workout with you! Try downloading one of these eBooks that highlight simple fitness routines you can do anytime, anywhere, and get on the fast track to getting fit. For more great resources, sign up for hoopla  […]

Read More

Win a Kindle Fire

Check out for a chance to win a Kindle Fire!

Entering is easy! Every time you check out an eBook or downloadable audiobook from OverDrive you're automatically entered. The more books you check out, the more entries you have to win. The contest runs January 1 - December 31, so you have plenty of time to read all year long! Try setting a goal for how […]

Read More

Introducing Libby

Screenshot of the new OverDrive app called Libby.

Libby is a new, streamlined app to borrow ebooks and downloadable audiobooks from OverDrive. Designed from the ground up you're only one tap away from the KCLS collection, the title you're reading, and your bookshelf. KCLS patrons are invited to download Libby during the preview beta period. OverDrive is collecting and responding to feedback from staff and patrons […]

Read More

Million Checkout Club

Infographic of the 2016 OverDrive Statistics, 70% of OverDrive checkouts were eBooks. 123,815 patrons. 3,459,136 total checkouts.

Congratulations! KCLS readers checked out over 3.4 million OverDrive titles in 2016. With the most checkouts in the US you earned a top spot in the Million Checkout Club. KCLS patrons have been downloading from OverDrive since 2003. We've grown a long way since the first 409 patrons logged on! In 2017 we're excited for […]

Read More

10 to Try? I Can Help with Audiobooks!

10 to Try 2017 Reading Challenge

Would you like to do the KCLS 10 to Try challenge? I've been meeting people who tell me they don't like listening to audiobooks. I didn't either until I broke my wrist 4 years ago. During recovery, I developed a "frozen shoulder." The exercise for that was to lay on my back on the floor with my arm […]

Read More

Reading on the Go

bright eyed dog

As a librarian I do a lot of reading. Seriously. There is just no way that I could sit down and snuggle up with a cup of tea every time I wanted to read a book or article. There are dogs to be walked, lawns to be mowed, housework to be done. None of these […]

Read More

Road-Rage Busters: Great Audiobooks to Make Traffic (Seem) Less Horrible

You know how the book is always better than the movie? Well, it doesn't work that way with audiobooks! Some books are great reads, and some are also great to hear. Some are--gasp!-- even better heard than seen.  Also: audiobooks written for young audiences are often delightful for adult listeners, and audiobooks written for an older […]

Read More

Pay it Forward in 2017- Become a “RAKtivist!”

"A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees." -Amelia Earhart What's a RAKtivist? Simply put, it's a Random Acts of Kindness activist. What qualifications do you need? A belief that kindness can change the world. How do you become one? It's easy. Practice random acts of kindness or RAoKs defined as: selfless acts performed […]

Read More

3 Novels About Royalty for Fans of Victoria and The Crown

Small, jeweled tiara sitting on a white pillow.

If you've burned through all ten episodes of the Netflix series The Crown and are getting excited for the PBS premiere of Victoria, here are three royalty-themed books to hold you over while you wait. The Royal We (also in eBook, large print, and downloadable audiobook) is a sort of alternate history of Will and Kate: what if Kate was baseball-loving […]

Read More