Talking to Kids About Coronavirus

If you're finding it challenging to talk to young people about the coronavirus situation, you are not alone. Here are four resources that may help.

  1. Seattle and King County Public Heath Insider is the best source for local, reliable information and tips. They recently posted a helpful article titled Showing Up for Our Kids During the Outbreak
  2. The Seattle Times interviewed experts for its article How to talk to kids about the novel coronavirus. For a broader perspective, the New York Times has general advice about sharing world news with children: Is The News Too Scary for Kids? 
  3. NPR published this easy-to-understand cartoon: Just For Kids: A Comic Exploring The New Coronavirus.
  4. PBS also has advice for talking to kids about coronavirus that will be especially appealing for fans of Daniel Tiger and Sesame Street. 

In addition to conversations, reading books together can help. Whether you want to change the subject to something lighter or dig into stories about viruses and hygiene, we have downloadable and streaming options for you. For personalized suggestions, try our KCLS BookMatch service. 

Online Books and Videos about Germs and Illness for Kids

The classic board book is available as an ebook. Ages 2 and up.

A video version of the popular dinosaur book series. Turn on subtitles to read along. Ages 3 and up.

Learn about handwashing, preventing the spread of germs, and more with your friends from Sesame Street. Ages 3 and up.

This story not only illustrates staying home when you're sick, but also how illness can easily pass from one member of the family to another. Ages 3 and up.

How have major diseases impacted history? Read to find out! Ages 10 and up.

View Full List

Remember that even while library buildings are closed, KCLS staff are still working to help our communities. Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube