Summer Reading Picks for Young Children

Need some new books for your littlest readers this summer? Here are some suggestions for ages birth to five.

Check out this sturdy sing-along book in both Spanish and English. It celebrates the sun and helps young children learn the days of the week. It also has two movable wheels for little hands to spin.

Many people go swimming in the summer -- but what if swimming feels a little scary? This picture book is about gradually overcoming a fear of the pool.

This picture book features a perfect summer day...but for whom? It turns into a funny story about backyard shenanigans involving a boy, a cat, a dog, a bird, and a bear.

Adoring parents make this talented, outgoing preschooler feel like a celebrity. When it's time for a big family gathering, she's ready to perform for her biggest fans.

This is a goofy homage to Eric Carle's hungry caterpillar. Hopefully, children will feel inspired to help the caterpillar learn how to be patient. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Pigeon books.

On a summer night, everyone in the family is too busy to spend time together -- until the power goes out! The inconvenience turns into an opportunity to celebrate togetherness. The illustrations, which earned a Caldecott Honor, show that when electric lights are off, the night sky looks amazing.

With only a few words on each page, this is a quick read with delightfully cute illustrations depicting kids and babies at play.

View Full List

What books are you reading to the young children in your family this summer? Share in the comments below! 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of King County Library System