Stephen King Recommends, Part 2!

We're here with another round of book recommendations from the King of Horror! These are the books he's tweeted about to his 3.6 million followers over the last year. As you might expect, his picks tend towards the dark, mysterious, and compulsively readable. Check out part 1 for more picks!

First we've got a book that's On Order in our catalog, My Absolute Darling. This heart-wrenching, page-turning female survival story also had King raving that, "The word 'masterpiece' has been cheapened by too many blurbs, but My Absolute Darling absolutely is one."

My Absolute Darling

Next, we have Greg Iles's Natchez Burning trilogy, which is an intricate and mesmerizing thriller full of secrets and misdeeds. Natchez Burning is a hefty read at almost 800 pages, but if you like your books on the epic side this might be right up your alley!

Natchez Burning

The Bone Tree

Mississippi Blood

Another title On Order right now is Fever by Deon Meyer. According to the publisher, "Expert boy marksman Nico Storm and his wise-leader father, Willem, must forge a new community in South Africa from the few survivors of a deadly virus."

FEVER

Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller in the vein of The Couple Next Door and Gone Girl (note: watch out for spoilers in the patron comments if you check it out in our catalog!):

stephen king tweet recommending Behind Her Eyes by sarah Pinborough

Behind Her Eyes

Lastly, King recommends a police procedural published last year called Darktown by Thomas Mullen, a story of two of Atlanta's first Black policemen in the 1940s as they become wrapped up in the murder of young Black woman - a case none of the White detectives in their department are willing to investigate.

a stephen king tweet recommending darktown by thomas mullen

Darktown

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of King County Library System