Certifications at KCLS

Certification is an excellent way to prepare for achievement in the classroom or the workforce, and KCLS provides access to premium learning resources and free exam sessions to earn one. Get on a pathway to obtain a certification in Microsoft Office or Adobe Creative software, and other technology competencies like introduction to programming using Python or Javascript. Read below for more details, links to learning resources, and exam registration.


Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS)

The industry recognized standard for Microsoft Office software. MOS Certification resources and exams are available for Microsoft Office 2016: Word, Excel, Access, PowerPoint, Outlook, Word Expert, and Excel Expert. Get Started with MOS Certification.

Adobe Certified Associate (ACA)

ACA certification provides a foundation for success by validating your digital creative skills in web design and development workspaces. Certifications available for PhotoShop, Illustrator, InDesign, Premiere Pro, Animate, and Dreamweaver. Note: ACA exams currently only available at Federal Way and Bellevue Libraries. Get Started with ACA Certification.

Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA)

"Microsoft Technology Associate is a certification intended for aspiring technologists, and people seeking knowledge of fundamental technology concepts." MTA Certification resources and exams are available for Cloud Fundamentals, Database Fundamentals, HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals, Networking Fundamentals, Security Fundamentals, and more. Get Started with MTA Certification.

Microsoft Certified Educator (MCE)

"The Microsoft Certified Educator (MCE) certification validates that educators have the global educator technology literacy competencies needed to provide a rich, custom learning experience for students." Get Started with MCE Certification.

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of King County Library System