5 Great Ways to Find Your Next Read

With thousands of books published every year, choosing what to read can be more than a little overwhelming. Never fear, though - we're here to help! Here are five great ways to pick a book:

Browse our recommended lists 

Did you know we have a whole page of booklists created by KCLS librarians? Here, you can browse our top picks in genres from romance to historical fiction and our Best Books lists (fiction and nonfiction) going back as far as 2009. You'll also find read alike suggestions for recent hits, including recommendations for fans of Hillbilly Elegy, The Handmaid's Tale, and more. We also have suggestions in special topics for kids (like moving or a new baby), picks for teens, and interesting new releases.

Get a BookMatch

Looking for more personalized suggestions? Try BookMatch! Tell us a little bit about books you love and what you're looking for in your next read, and get a list created just for you by a KCLS staff member.

Subscribe to KCLS Reads

Sign up for KCLS Reads, our books and reading newsletter! Each month, you'll get an email with lists of staff picks (coming in August: grilling and thrillers), plus news about books and reading services and upcoming author events.

Read the Blog

Since you're reading this, you're already familiar with the KCLS blog! We write about everything from medical memoirs to picnic cookbooks, so you're sure to find something that interests you.

Just ask!

KCLS staff love to talk about books - all you have to do is ask! I recently mentioned that I was looking for a sweet and charming romantic comedy, and a co-worker made a great recommendation (more on that coming in my August 10 to Try post!). Talk to us in person in our libraries, or find us on social media (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram); we love to make suggestions in-person and online.

Bonus: any book that's included in a KCLS booklist, suggested via BookMatch, featured in the newsletter or on the blog, or recommended in person or online counts for Read a Book Recommended by KCLS Staff for 10 to Try.

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of King County Library System